David Maley’s Update on Brett Rypien’s New Passing Records

David Maley, prep historian and custodian of all things notable in Washington football history, sent the update below on Brett Rypien’s new passing records. Also, Vince Grippi at the Spokesman-Review did some research and found that Rypien’s single-game passing numbers would have led Greater Spokane League in season passing as late as 1975, and some other interesting historical trivia. –CA

Shadle Park QB Brett Rypien, NWPrepsNow.com photo

Shadle Park’s Brett Rypien not only broke his own single-game passing yardage record but also the single-game pass completions record.

Rypien tied the large-school mark in single-game passing touchdowns with 8. DeSales’ Brian Lindgren has the all-time 11-man single-game passing TD record with 9 in a 1998 regular-season game vs St. John-Endicott.

David Maley (Rosalia, Wash.)


Single-game passing (11-man)

Brett Rypien, Shadle Park (2013) 613 yds.

Brett Rypien, Shadle Park (2012) 577 yds.

Joey Roppo, Monroe (2010) 516 yds.

Ben Dougherty, Elma (1997) 513 yds.

Ty Taubenheim, Lynden (1999) 513 yds.

Conor Plaisance, Jackson (2012) 508 yds.

Mark Mace, Kennewick (2003) 498 yds.

Ryan Bergman, Issaquah (2009) 498 yds.

Ethan Sterkel, Ellensburg (2009) 497 yds.

Deion Wright, Davis (2011) 497 yds.


Single-game pass completions (11-man)

Brett Rypien, Shadle Park (2013) 44 comp.

Chris Brown, Bonney Lake (2011) 42 comp.

Max Browne, Skyline (2011) 40 comp.

Dan Lewis, Mountain View (2003) 39 comp.

Max Browne, Skyline (2010) 39 comp.

Brian Foreman, Skyline (2002) 38 comp.

Connor Halliday, Ferris (2009) 38 comp.

Brett Rypien, Shadle Park (2012) 38 comp.

Andy Smith, Arlington (2009) 37 comp.

Joel McKee, Stevenson (1993) 36 comp.

Stefan Walker, Port Angeles (2006) 36 comp.

Kellen Moore, Prosser (2006) 36 comp.

Chris Brown, Bonney Lake (2011) 36 comp.


Single-game passing touchdowns (11-man)

Brian Lindgren, DeSales (1998) 9 TD

Drew Miller, Lakes (1996) 8 TD

Kellen Moore, Prosser (2006) 8 TD

Steffin Church, Kentlake (2012) 8 TD

Brett Rypien, Shadle Park (2013) 8 TD